webinar register page

Webinar banner
The Art in Life: Comic Books
In this iteration of The Art in Life, we're exploring the art of comic books: the drawing, the writing, the cultural legacies. We're bringing you three perspectives:

- Jonathan Marks, independent and Marvel artist and illustrator
- J. Gonzo, freelance illustrator, designer, and art and creative director
- Shilpa Dave, Assistant Professor of Media Studies at the University of Virginia and researcher on Ms. Marvel


“There is no distinction for us between art and life,” said Yolngu Aboriginal Australian artist Wandjuk Marika. This proclamation draws attention to the arbitrary distinctions we often make in western cultures between “fine art” and “craft,” “design” and other often-unhelpful labels. As museums, we actively work to break down such distinctions. As museum professionals, we are aesthetically minded people who see art all around us. And, as a global community, many of us are finding ourselves unable to visit the “fine art” institutions we love most. Because of all of these factors and more, the Fralin Museum of Art at UVA and the Kluge-Ruhe Aboriginal Art Collection of UVA have partnered to present THE ART IN LIFE, a series of programs that explore the artistic creativity, innovation, challenges and aesthetic decisions of practices that usually aren’t considered fine art.

This program is happening once. Look for your time zone to see what time it’s happening for you:

USA EST: Thursday, March 4, 7 pm

USA CDT: Thursday, March 4, 6 pm

USA PDT: Thursday, March 4, 4 pm

Australian EST: Friday, March 5, 9 am

Mar 4, 2021 07:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Lauren Maupin.