webinar register page

Webinar banner
The Art in Life: Wine Labels
This program is happening once. Look for your time zone to see what time it’s happening for you:

USA EST: Thursday, August 27, 7 pm

USA CDT: Thursday, August 27, 6 pm

USA PDT: Thursday, August 27, 4 pm

Australian EST: Friday, August 28, 9 am

“There is no distinction for us between art and life,” said Yolngu Aboriginal Australian artist Wandjuk Marika. This proclamation draws attention to the arbitrary distinctions we often make in western cultures between “fine art” and “craft,” “design” and other often-unhelpful labels. As museums, we actively work to break down such distinctions. As museum professionals, we are aesthetically minded people who see art all around us. And, as a global community, many of us are finding ourselves unable to visit the “fine art” institutions we love most. Because of all of these factors and more, the Fralin Museum of Art at UVA and the Kluge-Ruhe Aboriginal Art Collection of UVA have partnered to present THE ART IN LIFE, a series of programs that explore the artistic creativity, innovation, challenges and aesthetic decisions of practices that usually aren’t considered fine art.

This time we’re exploring the aesthetics of wine labels. They often make or break our decision to purchase and consume the wine inside. How can a label express the wine it's seeking to represent? Do wine labels have stories? Can they create enriching collaborations? How do labels affect product design, winery identity and sales? We'll hear from two artists who have designed wine labels, a winery owner, and a wine branding specialist to explore these questions, and yours!

Jessica Pettway, artist of wine labels for Zafa Counterspell
Krista Scruggs, owner and winemaker of Zafa Counterspell
Goompi Ugerabah, (aka Stephen Larcombe), Indigenous Australian artist and dancer, artist of wine labels for Domaine de Grava's Bordeaux wines
TC Whysall, sommelier and Virginia wine sales and branding specialist"

Aug 27, 2020 07:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

* Required information
Loading